Latin America

Ecuador


DGRV is active nationwide in the Ecuadorian cooperative sector. The aim of the project is to improve the income situation of micro-entrepreneurs and family farms, as well as to secure the savings of members of savings and credit cooperatives.

About the project


At makro level, the DGRV team in Ecuador advises the supervisor of the cooperative sector (SEPS) on legislative proposals and provides assistance in staff training. At meso level, DGRV works together with the central bank of the Ecuadorian savings and credit cooperatives, FINANCOOP. FINANCOOP strengthens its member cooperatives using DGRV tools in the areas of good governance and social accountability. And finally, at micro level, DGRV also works directly with the savings and credit cooperatives. Through a range of software tools, such as the MicroScore (a program to evaluate credit risks for microcredits), DGRV supports the credit unions in their daily work. All DGRV tools used by savings and credit cooperatives aim to promote financial inclusion, especially for the rural population, and to ensure the proper and efficient management of the savings entrusted to credit unions. In doing so, DGRV makes an important contribution to the stability of the Ecuadorian financial system.

In addition, DGRV supports the savings and credit cooperatives in establishing a green credit line. The term “green credit line” refers to a range of financial products such as loans, which are specifically designed to finance investments that make a positive contribution to environmental and climate protection. Also, at micro-leveland in cooperation with the credit cooperative “Vis Andes”, DGRV supports associations of family farms in the province of Cotopaxi. By networking several groups and the joint purchase and sale of goods, the families involved in the project should be able to increase their income.

Social Development Goals


The project makes an important contribution to the fulfillment of various ” SDG´s”, in particular to:

Actvities


  • Advising the SPES on the introduction of a legal obligation to compile a social balance sheet
  • Training of FINANCOOP staff on good governance
  • Introduction of the new version of the MicroScore (with the module for agricultural credit) in the savings and credit cooperatives

Partner


Superintendencia de Economía Popular y Solidaria (SEPS)

SEPS is a government agency with the task of monitoring and regulating the Ecuadorian solidarity economy (savings and credit cooperatives, real estate cooperatives, associations, etc.). With the SEPS we work on regulatory issues and social balance.

https://www.seps.gob.ec/

FINANCOOP

FINANCOOP is the central bank of the savings and credit cooperatives in Ecuador. Member cooperatives have the option of providing themselves with liquidity via a credit line. The DGRV is working with FINANCOOP in areas such as good governance or social balance.

https://www.financoop.net/

Vis Andes

The Savings and Credit Cooperative Vis Andes offers classic financial services to members as well as non-members. These include, for example, microcredits or savings accounts. Vis Andes is our partner in the project section rural networks.

https://visandes.fin.ec/web/

Office


Rumipamba E2-214 y Av. República
Edif. Signature, Piso 7, Of. 701
170201 Quito – Ecuador

F. +593 (2) 351-8389
ecuador@dgrv.coop

Employees


Director

Dr. Matthias Arzbach (marzbach@dgrv.coop)

Project Mananger

Patrick Heckler (pheckler@dgrv.coop)

Head of Administration

Katherine Cuesta (kcuesta@dgrv.coop)

Project Assistant

Alejandro Romero (aromero@dgrv.coop)

Clerical Assistant

Cintia Brito (cbrito@dgrv.coop)

Assistant of Administration

Cristina Trujillo (ctrujillo@dgrv.coop)

Project Advisor

Fernando Espinosa (fespinosa@dgrv.coop)

Local Accounting Expert

Katerine Simbaña (ksimbana@dgrv.coop)

Project Advisor

Mónica Molina (mmolina@dgrv.coop)

Project Advisor

Rodrigo Mullo (rmullo@dgrv.coop)

Regional Head of Administration

Stefanie Terneus (sterneus@dgrv.coop)

Other projects in the region


Latin America

Chile

The long-term impact of the DGRV CoopSur Project is to improve the economic and social participation of large population groups, especially micro and small entrepreneurs, artisans and farmers, who do not, or only in a very limited way, have access to markets and they are not yet members of a cooperative, as well as members […]

More
Latin America

Paraguay

The long-term impact of the DGRV CoopSur Project is to improve the economic and social participation of large population groups, especially micro and small entrepreneurs, artisans and farmers, who do not, or only in a very limited way, have access to markets and they are not yet members of a cooperative, as well as members […]

More
Latin America

Peru

The long-term impact of the DGRV CoopSur Project is to improve the economic and social participation of large population groups, especially micro and small entrepreneurs, artisans and farmers, who do not, or only in a very limited way, have access to markets and they are not yet members of a cooperative, as well as members […]

More